First Name:
Last Name:
Year of birth:



Area Police Stations

Powder Springs Police Department
L Rick Richardson(Chief of Police)
PO Box 46,
Powder Springs, GA, 30073

Browse Powder Springs, GA Police Arrest Reports

The city of Powder Springs encompasses the following counties: Cobb. Powder Springs's government is comprised of the Mayor, who is currently Pat Vaughn.

Powder Springs encompasses land area: 6.3 sq mi (16.4 km2), water area: 0 sq mi (0 km2). The elevation is 945 ft (288 m) above sea level. This equates to a population density of 2,200/sq mi (850/km2). The local time zone is Eastern (EST) (UTC-5).

Local area codes are 770/678/404. The Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) code for the city is 13-62524, which is used in computer filings when non-government agencies and contractors fulfill government contracts. Additional information and the official website of the city is found at Official Website of Powder Springs, Georgia.

Powder Springs is a city in Cobb County, Georgia, United States. The population was 13,940 at the 2010 census.

The town of Powder Springs was incorporated as Springville in 1838 in the lands of two Cherokee Indian chiefs, Chief Nose and Chief Ana Kanasta (Sweetwater). Gold had been discovered in Georgia ten years earlier, and the first area settlers came to find gold. The settlers found little gold in the mines at Lost Mountain and off Brownsville Road. It was at about this same time that the Cherokee people were forced off their land and marched to Oklahoma on the Trail of Tears.

The name Springville was changed to Powder Springs in 1859. The name was derived from the seven springs in the city limits. The water in these springs contains some 26 minerals that turn the surrounding sand black like gunpowder – hence the name Gunpowder Springs.