First Name:
Last Name:
Year of birth:



Area Police Stations

Farmington Police Department
(Chief of Police)
325 Oak St,
Farmington, MN, 55024

Browse Farmington, MN Police Arrest Reports

The city of Farmington encompasses the following counties: Dakota. Farmington's government is comprised of the Mayor, who is currently Todd Larson.

Farmington encompasses land area: 14.69 sq mi (38.05 km2), water area: 0.25 sq mi (0.65 km2). The elevation is 902 ft (275 m) above sea level. This equates to a population density of 1,435.4/sq mi (554.2/km2). The local time zone is Central (CST) (UTC-6).

Local area codes are 651. The Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) code for the city is 27-20618, which is used in computer filings when non-government agencies and contractors fulfill government contracts. Additional information and the official website of the city is found at www.ci.farmington.mn.us.

Farmington is a city in Dakota County, Minnesota, United States. The population was 21,086 at the 2010 census. It is a part of the Minneapolis-St. Paul metropolitan area.

Settlers began arriving in Empire Township, in which Farmington grew, in the early 1850s. The village of Dakota City began around the intersection of the Minnesota Central, Hastings, and Dakota railroads, and also the Vermillion River. The popular city train station in Dakota City was Farmington Station and non-residents began confusing the two names and identifying the town as Farmington. The town's name was then permanently changed from Dakota City to Farmington. Farmington received its village charter in 1872 making Farmington the second oldest community in Dakota County after the county seat, Hastings.

A notable event in Farmington's history is the movement of the Dakota County Fair to Farmington in 1869. Another event, the Great Fire of Farmington on November 22, 1879, destroyed several houses, stores, a hotel, and a grain elevator in the current downtown area. Farmington High School graduated its first class in 1884. Finally, Farmington was one of the first communities in the United States to offer rural free mail delivery in 1897.