First Name:
Last Name:
Year of birth:



Area Police Stations

Salem Police Department

500 N Jackson St,
Salem , MO, 65560

Browse Salem, MO Police Arrest Reports

The city of Salem encompasses the following counties: Dent. Salem's government type is Local, Mayor-Alderman. It is comprised of the Mayor, who is currently Gary Brown.

Salem encompasses land area: 3.18 sq mi (8.24 km2), water area: 0 sq mi (0 km2). The elevation is 1,184 ft (361 m) above sea level. This equates to a population density of 1,556.6/sq mi (601.0/km2). The local time zone is Central (CST) (UTC-6).

Local area codes are 573. The Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) code for the city is 29-65234, which is used in computer filings when non-government agencies and contractors fulfill government contracts.

Salem is the county seat of Dent County, Missouri, United States. The population was 4,950 at the 2010 census which allows Salem to become a Class 3 city in Missouri; however, the city has chosen to remain a Class 4 city under Missouri Revised Statutes. Salem is located a few miles north of the Ozark Scenic Riverways and close to Montauk State Park, which contains the headwaters of the Current River.

Dent County was first explored and settled between 1818 and 1829. In 1851 the Missouri Assembly created Dent County from Crawford and Shannon counties. It was named for early settler Lewis Dent, who served as the first representative. A log courthouse, built about 1851 or 1852, was Dent County's first and was located on the Wingfield farm northeast of Salem. W. P. Williams became the first mayor of Salem in 1860, just after the Missouri State Legislature passed laws regarding the administration of village government. Village governments were suspended during the Civil War. In 1881, Salem was incorporated as a town.

The town boasts a number of museums including the Ozark Natural & Cultural Resource Center, the Bonebrake Center of Nature and History, and a historic Downtown Walking Tour.