First Name:
Last Name:
Year of birth:



Area Police Stations

Oswego Police Department
Tory L DeCaire(Chief of Police)
169 West Second Street,
Oswego, NY, 13126

Browse Oswego, NY Police Arrest Reports

The city of Oswego, also called "The Port City" encompasses the following counties: Oswego. Oswego's government type is Mayor-Council. It is comprised of the Mayor, who is currently Thomas W. Gillen (D).

Oswego encompasses land area: 7.7 sq mi (7.7 km2), water area: 3.6 sq mi (3.6 km2)  31%. The elevation is 285 ft (87 m) above sea level. According to the 2010 United States Census, the local population is 18,142. This equates to a population density of 2,343.4/sq mi (905.0/km2). The local time zone is EST (UTC-5).

Local area codes are 315. The Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) code for the city is 36-55574, which is used in computer filings when non-government agencies and contractors fulfill government contracts. Additional information and the official website of the city is found at www.oswegony.org.

Oswego is a city in Oswego County, New York, United States. The population was 18,142 at the 2010 census. Oswego is located on Lake Ontario in north-central New York and promotes itself as 'The Port City of Central New York'. It is the county seat of Oswego County.

The city of Oswego is bordered by the towns of Oswego, Minetto, and Scriba to the west, south, and east, respectively, and by Lake Ontario to the north. Oswego Speedway is a nationally-known automobile racing facility. The State University of New York at Oswego is located just outside the city on the lake. Oswego is the namesake for communities in Montana, Oregon, Illinois, and Kansas.

The British established a trading post in the area in 1722 and fortified it with a log palisade later called Fort Oswego. The first fortification on the site of the current Fort Ontario was built by the British in 1755 and called the 'Fort of the Six Nations.'